Sick Baby…

June 1, 2015

Sickness grabbed up both of my children these past few weeks which really limits my productivity. Since Zoey was born I have gotten more accomplished at doing things one handed. I can feed and water all the animals, gather eggs, and even catch ducklings while carrying a baby. It is not easy though and also takes me twice as long.

Zoey was sick last week and now Emma is under the weather. I pray she gets better soon. It is heart wrenching watching my babies be sick with nothing I can offer but comfort. Zach, of course, is a rock through all of it. He works all day, then goes out to the big ranch to do chores by himself . He then comes home and takes his turn snuggling babies. Sometimes I get tired just thinking about how busy his day is. He doesn’t mind working, he prefers to be active. His job as foreman lets him work with tractors all the time which he greatly enjoys. Boys and their toys! He also loves just being out at the ranch and breathing it all in. Petting his horse, messing with the alpaca, and making games out of tossing bread to the pigs. The heat affects him far more than it does me. For one he is outside all day air conditioning only happens in the truck between jobs. Today he told me he went through 4 work shirts and could wring out his pants if he wanted. Then he attempted a hug. Zoey and I ran away yelling “go shower daddy!”

This past weekend we went to the fair. Zoey had a great time with everything and Emma didn’t seem to care. Zoey particularly liked the rides. Although she didn’t get to go on as many as she would have liked. First off they wouldn’t sell her an all you can ride bracelet because she’s one inch under three feet. But she was allowed to go on all three feet tall rides with an adult. So we got her some tickets instead. Which is just not as cost effective. I would have made more of a stink about the bracelet, but then I realized she has to go on these rides with an adult. She had some of her little boyfriends there but they are all her age or a little older, not old enough to take them with her. That means me… or Zach, but she can only ride little kiddy rides and Zach is almost 7′ tall.

 

 

He went on the carousel with her and tried one little roller coaster. That was hilarious, he’s SO BIG! Unfortunately I had to go on the rest of the rides with her. I HATE ROLLER COASTERS! I will do the little tea cup rides or the tilt a whirl, spinning is fine, up and down is so not okay. Zach snapped some pictures of us riding. I tried to smile for the camera but I fear it is more of a grimace. I was getting nauseous on a ride that was going about as fast as someone can walk. My friends would always call me a wimpy rider but whatever I go to the fair to eat the expensive greasy food, not to throw it all up. 😉

Zoey had a good time and that is all that matters. We also went through and looked at the baby animals. I think two of the pigs that were shown this year came from our farm, we were way off on breeding calculations, but there is another fair coming up. We have a deal with 4H kids that if they get a ribbon and bring us a picture of them and our pig they get half off their next one.

Leave a Reply

