Happy Mother’s Day

mom

Unbelievably that’s not me. That is my mom. She still looks 30.

On this mother’s day I figured it was a good time to talk about the greatest of mothers, mine. I know everybody thinks their mom is the best but somebody’s mom has to be the best and seriously it’s mine.

It took me a long time to write this post. While using words may be my gift, I often have a hard time expressing how I feel. My mom went out of town this year to visit my favorite grandma (I’m totally not looking for brownie points…). Since I won’t be able to see her this mother’s day I thought a good gift to give her would be words.

My mom is very gifted. She is a great nurse, photographer, teacher, cook, gardener, general handyman. She also has vast reserves of patience. Which unfortunately she did not pass on. She always has time to talk or play or sing or dance on the coffee table. She has never made any of her four children feel like we were annoying or that she didn’t have time for us. Believe me we were annoying and had lots of time wasting thoughts we just had to share with her. Mainly my siblings, because everything I have to say is of the upmost importance naturally.

While she will never win any awards for coordination. I don’t know how many times she has cut herself slicing bagels or stabbed herself with screw drivers or broken glass. She makes up for it by having this uncanny ability to find lost items. She can also walk faster than most people can run. Not a good thing, she likes to go for “little walks” with me. Which is basically me going at a full sprint for 4 miles while she leisurely strolls along. She also recently did a 30 mile bike ride. I abstained because, well I don’t really have an excuse I just didn’t want to, it looked and sounded hard.

What I’m trying to say is I love my mom. She’s the best person ever and if I am ever half the woman she is then I think my kids are gonna turn out just fine 🙂

 

Until Next Time…

Leave a Reply

