Welcome

Hey All,

Welcome to Stidham Ranch!

Follow along on our journey to self sufficiency. This is a wonderful chance for anyone who is interested in homesteading, particularly animal husbandry, to follow along and learn with us. We started raising animals and trying to make all our food from scratch about a year and a half ago after we moved into our triplex that has 1/3 of an acre. We have made enormous strides since then; our mistakes seemingly obvious in hindsight. In the daily grind, it sometimes feels as if we are standing still.

Property-2

I decided to finally take the plunge and start this blog because we are selling the triplex and are FINALLY moving out to our ranch! In January of 2015, my husband, Zach, and I bought a 40 acre ranch with his parents and his sister and brother-in-law. We raise, breed and sell pigs, have a couple of horses, countless ducks, rabbits, and chickens, although still no cow despite my begging.

We will be living in an RV or travel trailer for a little while until we get a house built. I am not thrilled about living in a trailer with 2 children under the age of 3 in the summer in Nor Cal. I’m trying to look on the positive side. We get to go through all of our junk and get rid of the mounds of stuff that we don’t use. I will have a lot of fun purging.

Zoey, our 2 year old, loves the ranch. I think she and Zach will have an easy adjustment. They both love wandering the property and self entertain well. They can both sleep anywhere, and they are both just happy natured people. The baby, Emma, and I will probably have a harder time with it. Neither of us sleep well, and we get cranky and hot and whiny. Wow, so apparently I’m just like a baby and my husband is just a happy toddler. Well, I’m sure those who know us will say it’s true.

I’m very excited to share all this with you! I could talk about pigs and ranching all day long; so, that’s exactly what I’m going to do. You will learn more than you ever wanted to about farm life and raising children!

Buckle up folks!

One thought on “Welcome

Leave a Reply

